Fine Gael TD for Galway West & Mayo South

Over €1 million extra allocated to An Foras Teanga

Minister for Gaeltacht Affairs and Natural Resources and Fine Gael TD for Galway West and Mayo South, Seán Kyne has secured over €1 million extra in funding for the Irish Language.

On top of the Budget 2017 allocation of €13.239 million, an extra €1.01 million has been allocated for An Foras Teanga as part of the Revised Budget Estimates for 2017.

An Foras Teanga comprises two agencies – Foras na Gaeilge and the Ulster-Scots Agency. Foras na Gaeilge promotes the Irish Language on an all-Island basis.

Commented Minister of State Kyne: “Following negotiations with the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, Paschal Donohoe TD, I am delighted to have secured over €1 million extra for An Foras an Teanga. This includes €260,000 for the current year and €750,000 for 2017 with the majority of funding to be allocated to Foras na Gaeilge.

“Foras na Gaeilge is the State agency which works to promote the Irish Language in Ireland in a variety of ways. The organisation works with six lead organisations including Conradh na Gaeilge, Gael Linn, Gaelscoileanna Teo, and Oireachtas na Gaeilge.

“As part of its primary aim to promote the Irish Language, Foras na Gaeilge provides funding for community events, such as festivals with an Irish Language component, education initiatives such as Irish Language summer camps, Irish Language newspapers and magazines, as well as publishing schemes such as the translation of books into Irish and the vital Irish Dictionary Project –

“The funding I am providing today will help Foras na Gaeilge sustain and expand these initiatives which are directly promoting the Irish Language both here in Ireland and abroad.”


An Foras Teanga consists of Foras na Gaeilge and the Ulster-Scots Agency and was founded under the British-Irish Agreement of 1999. Foras na Gaeilge is 75% funded by the Irish Government and 25% funded by the Government of Northern Ireland while the Ulster-Scots Agency is 25% funded by the Irish Government and 75% by the Government of Northern Ireland.